Skip to content

What are the 4 senses of Scripture?

What are the 4 senses of Scripture?

Terms in this set (18)literal sense. spiritual sense. 3 sub-categories of spiritual sense. moral sense (aka tropological) allegorical sense (aka typical) anagogical sense. (not on quiz) allegory: in the scripture, when two things are consubstantial…

What does Anagogical mean?

The anagogical is a method of mystical or spiritual interpretation of statements or events, especially scriptural exegesis, that detects allusions to the afterlife. Certain medieval theologians describe four methods of interpreting the scriptures: literal/historical, tropological, allegorical, and anagogical.

What are physical senses?

Humans have five basic senses: sight, hearing, smell, taste and touch. (Image: © struna/Shutterstock) Humans have five basic senses: touch, sight, hearing, smell and taste. The sensing organs associated with each sense send information to the brain to help us understand and perceive the world around us.